Sunday, April 22, 2018

Convention on Migratory Species (CMS)

The Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals, abbreviated to just the Convention on Migratory Species (CMS) or the Bonn Convention and CMS COP is known as Global Wildlife conference—aims to conserve terrestrial, marine and avian migratory species throughout their range.
It is an international treaty, concluded under the aegis of the United Nations Environment Programme, concerned with the conservation of wildlife and habitats on a global scale. Since the Convention's entry into force, its membership has grown steadily to include over 120 Parties from Africa, Central and South America, Asia, Europe and Oceania.
The Convention was signed in 1979 in Bonn and entered into force in 1983. The depositary is the government of the Federal Republic of Germany.
The CMS is the only global and UN-based intergovernmental organization established exclusively for the conservation and management of terrestrial, aquatic and avian migratory species throughout their range.
Several Agreements have been concluded to date under the auspices of CMS. They aim to conserve:
  • Populations of European Bats (EUROBATS)
  • Cetaceans of the Mediterranean Sea, Black Sea and Contiguous Atlantic Area (ACCOBAMS)
  • Small Cetaceans of the Baltic, North East Atlantic, Irish and North Seas (ASCOBANS)
  • Seals in the Wadden Sea (Wadden Sea Agreement)
  • African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA)
  • Albatrosses and Petrels (ACAP)
  • Gorillas and Their Habitats (Gorilla Agreement)
Appendix I Threatened Migratory Species. Migratory species threatened with extinction are listed on Appendix I of the Convention.

Appendix II – Migratory Species requiring international cooperationMigratory species that need or would significantly benefit from international co-operation are listed in Appendix II of the Convention. 

No comments:

Post a Comment